Made for black and white

A few weeks ago, Wicked Dark Photography’s Black and White 101 post inspired me to look at black and white photography in a new way. Before, I liked the look of black and white photography, but just changed photos to monochrome as an afterthought once they were loaded on my computer. I’m now trying to take black and white photos more deliberately, often setting my camera to monochrome so that I’m forced to commit to it and look for elements that will look good in black and white. In addition to setting the camera to monochrome, the post advised looking for strong compositions and recognizable subjects, and making sure that the photo has pure black and white.

In that spirit, I found a perfect monochrome subject at the zoo: zebras.

(The giant pandas, in case you were wondering, were not outside.)

4 thoughts on “Made for black and white

Leave a Reply

